Home > ownCloud, Qt, Release > ownCloud 4 and ownCloud Client 1.0.2 released

ownCloud 4 and ownCloud Client 1.0.2 released

It’s release day today: This morning, ownCloud 4 was released! With a very cool set of features it’s even more useful and again more fun to use.

ownCloud Client on MacOS Along with that I am happy to let you know that we also released the ownCloud Desktop Client in version 1.0.2.

It is a maintenance release with a couple of important bugfixes, such as the cross platform filename encoding problem I was already talking about. Apart from that big blocker a couple of smaller, but annoying problems were fixed. Also the GUI was polished, text changes here and there and a new icon set that looks more cool and more like ownCloud.

Version 1.0.2 is also the version that is released on all big desktop platforms the first time. Now we also offer a dmg for MacOSX as well as a Windows Installer and packages for the major Linux distributions. Have fun!

If you want to talk about ownCloud, file synchronization or such, we have a booth on Linuxtag in Berlin and I will be there. I am looking forward to meeting you.

  1. disappointed
    May 22, 2012 at 09:23

    Are you serious? There are still bugs like the hardcoded /tmp directory so it wont’t work in virtualhost configs and on windows servers.
    Did any of the developers even read the Bugreport http://bugs.owncloud.org/thebuggenie/owncloud/issues/oc-464 ?

    • dragotin
      May 22, 2012 at 09:44

      Its unfortunate that this bug was not fixed, I am sorry, but a lot of others were. I am sure this problem will also be handled soon. As being on a foss developers blog, have you considered to look into the problem?

  2. May 22, 2012 at 09:31

    Wow, impressive progress! You just fixed the three perhaps most significant missing features I found with ownCloud earlier on – encryption, versioning and an osx client.

    Are there any “tutorials” on how to upgrade the server without losing data?

    • Brad
      June 21, 2012 at 04:05

      It’s on the owncloud website under installation, but basically just overwrite all files in your servers owncloud directory except “data” and “config.” Then, just log into your owncloud account as admin and the rest of the update happens automatically within a couple seconds.

  3. May 22, 2012 at 11:02

    Why does the ubuntu owncloud-client package depend on ntp?
    It installs a ntp-server on my latop, but the clock is working fine.

  4. May 22, 2012 at 20:02

    I can’t wait to get this install, thank you guys so much for all your hard work on this project!

  5. zizzfizzix
    May 23, 2012 at 00:04

    Nice one there!🙂

    dragotin, are you depending on “neon” in csync? Because I got one report that it doesn’t build without it and there’s no mention in the dependency list (or I’m blind..).

  6. May 23, 2012 at 08:51

    I tested the osx client on my owncloud-3 installation… it made a mess with all files, detecting several (recursive) conflicts. If the client is not compatible with oc3 it should be stated explicitly. Check it out!

  7. gnumdk
    May 23, 2012 at 09:02

    Tested with owncube…

    To many bugs to be usable…

  8. skugler
    May 23, 2012 at 13:52

    A clear update patch would indeed be very nice, I’ve installed the previous release, and couldn’t find any instructions how to upgrade, short of clean install (which I’d rather avoid).

    I’ve got one serious issue with the mirall desktop client, though. (Both in packages as well as in latest snapshots from Git.) It wakes up every ~15 seconds and seems to check all synced directories for changes, sometimes it hangs during that process and one of my cores will stay busy, supposedly forever. Both of these are an absolute showstopper for anything relying on a battery.

    Also, sometimes mirall tells me it wouldn’t sync for security reasons, leaving me in a state where I have absolutely no clue about the state of my data, the reason for the failure, or what to do about it. I can force sync then, but I’ve no idea what it’ll do to my data.

    Overall, I’m pretty happy about ownCloud’s features. It sounds like something really useful, but the above problems are currently keeping me from seriously considering it for all my computers (and Plasma Active, where especially the polling and hangs would be a complete showstopper).

    • dragotin
      May 24, 2012 at 06:52

      For upgrade instructions, see the last paragraph on http://owncloud.org/install/ .

      For the wakeup problem, there are two modes of checks for local changes: Either a local “file system poll” or, for linux, an inotify based notification system. Seems like you haven’t enabled that. Please check if you have USE_INOTIFY enabled in your build. If not, please try to rebuild with the cmake parameter -DUSE_INOTIFY=ON.

      Thanks for your feedback and interest

      • May 25, 2012 at 17:24

        Hi Dragotin, is the -DUSE_INOTIFY=ON for csync or mirall/oc client?

      • dragotin
        May 28, 2012 at 22:34

        I committed a patch to mirall that makes it reading the poll times out of the config file. The USE_INOTIFY switch needs to be set to mirall btw.

  9. Gymnae
    May 23, 2012 at 16:11

    Sadly the rapid release process riddles this package with bugs. Proper testing would be better than feature overflow, especially if there is no clear update path, apps just break and the automated config.php generated from a previous 3.0.3 install is broken.
    I am still with this project and I love that it’s open and embraced, but features should not be the reason to sacrifice a proper QC. Afterall, dropbox is being loved by so many because it’s easy and reliable. Two things where owncloud hasn’t arrived yet.

  10. Saile
    May 25, 2012 at 16:03

    Hi Klaas,

    thanks for your great work with owncloud, I love it. Just one thing: is there any chance to get a client Software for 32 bit macs?

    I have Snow Leopard, but only a CoreDuo, thats why its only running in 32 bit-mode.

    Thanks a lot,
    Saile

  11. jim
    June 4, 2012 at 10:35

    hi guys
    after installing the windows client and connecting to the https site, the application broke, means every time I try to start it it breaks. I have used “https://myip/owncloud/” link to owncloud for sync. i am on a win 7 machine.
    cheers

    • dragotin
      June 5, 2012 at 09:49

      Hi Jim, sorry for the problems you experience. I’d ask you to file a bug report at http://bugs.owncloud.org with as much as information you can gather, because this is not enough for us to nail down.

  12. Emre
    June 9, 2012 at 19:42

    Hi, I’m trying to test this on Windows 7.
    1) Although I add no files to the folder, I see the sync running every 30 seconds. Doesn’t it watch for new or modified files on server & local disk to start a sync (ie windows version of inotify). I prefer that it runs only when needed.
    2) I see a file named csync_timediff.ctmp each time the sync runs. Do we really need this file? It does not seem efficient to create and delete a file every 30 seconds on both server & client. Isn’t there any way to understand time differences without creating & deleting this file?

    • dragotin
      June 9, 2012 at 20:43

      1) is planned but not yet implemented. Happy to accept a patch🙂 The sync frequency will be configurable soon btw.
      2) Currently it’s still needed, however we already thought about changing that. Please stay tuned.

      thanks, Klaas

  13. Tri Nguyen
    June 13, 2012 at 14:37

    Hi, I downloaded the Mac Sync client, but can’t set it up. When I go to Add Folder, I can choose a local directory, but I can’t choose or create another folder on my ownCloud server. It tells me that the folder is unavailable, no matter if the folder is manually created or not. And when I press the button “create”, it fails. I’ve been trying for a while now.

  14. June 23, 2012 at 17:30

    dragotin :
    I committed a patch to mirall that makes it reading the poll times out of the config file. The USE_INOTIFY switch needs to be set to mirall btw.

    Thanks for the info Dragotin. I’ve switched to using csync 0.50.7 and mirall 1.0.3 from owncloud.org site. I had to make the LOG_TO_CALLBACK change to ON in DefineOptions.cmake ( of csync ) for mirall to build. And also I built mirall with -DUSE_INOTIFY.

    I notice that in the log ( for mirall ) it still seems to use a 30sec timer for updates. Is this not supposed to switch to inotify now? Is there a config option to switch from using timer to inotify? Is there a mirall config somewhere this can be set or at least change the timer value?

    One last issue is that when selecting log from mirall window, the mirall application hangs after a few seconds of logging …

    platform: slackware 13.37 64-bit

    Thanks for your help, Robby

  1. May 22, 2012 at 10:07

Leave a Reply

