Home > FOSS, KDE, Opinion, Qt > Change in Professional Life

Change in Professional Life

This November was very exciting for me so far, as I was starting a new job at a company called Heidolph. I left SUSE after working there for another two years. My role there that was pretty far away from interesting technical work, which I missed more and more, so I decided to grab the opportunity to join in a new adventure.

Heidolph is a mature German engineering company building premium laboratory equipment. It is based in Schwabach, Germany. For me it is the first time that I am working in company that doesn’t do only software. At Heidolph, software is just one building block besides mechanical and electronic parts and tons of special know how. That is a very different situation and a lot to learn for me, but in a small, co-located team of great engineers, I am able to catch up fast in this interesting area.

We build software for the next generation Heidolph devices based on Linux and C++/Qt. Both technologies are in the center of my interest, over the years it has become more than clear for me that I want to continue with that and deepen my knowledge even more.

Since the meaning of open source has changed a lot since I started to contribute to free software and KDE in particular, it was a noticeable but not difficult step for me to take and move away from a self-proclaimed open source company towards a company that is using open source technologies as one part of their tooling and is
interested in learning about the processes we do in open source to build great products. An exciting move for me where I will learn a lot but also benefit from my experience. This of course that does not mean that I will stop to contribute to open source projects.

We are still building up the team and look for a Software Quality Engineer. If you are interested in working with us in an exciting environment, you might wanna get in touch.

Categories: FOSS, KDE, Opinion, Qt Tags: ,
  1. November 25, 2018 at 10:48

    Hi Dragotin, what a nice sharing in free software development professional life. I’m following your blog through my public aggregator, and I’m a KDE user. I’m not a programmer but I really like KDE and GNU/Linux. Very nice for you to work on GNU/Linux and C++/Qt there. Thanks for sharing!

  1. November 24, 2018 at 04:34

Leave a comment